International Chocolate Day!

Today is International Chocolate Day!

(Guess what my favourites are!)

I was sent the useful tips below by my sister years ago, but have no idea where they originated. Although I do not consider myself a chocoholic, I refer to them regularly… ;-)

Tips for Chocoholics

  • If you get melted chocolate on your hands, you’re eating it too slowly.
  • Chocolate-covered raisins count as fruit – eat as many as you like.
  • How to transport chocolate safely home from the shop in a hot car – eat it in the car park.
  • Diet tip – eat a chocolate bar before each meal – it’ll take the edge off your appetite.
  • A nice box of chocolates provides all the calories you need for the day in one place. Now isn’t that handy?
  • Store chocolate on top of a high cupboard – calories are afraid of heights and will jump out to save themselves.
  • If you can’t eat all your chocolate it can be kept in the freezer, but if you can’t eat all your chocolate, it could be a sign of a deeper problem.
  • A balanced diet is essential; eat equal amounts of white and dark chocolate.
  • Put “eat chocolate” at the top of your “to do” list today.  That way, at least you’ll get one thing done.

So, do tell…

Are you a chocoholic?

Do you wake up at night craving chocolate?

Do you put chocolate on your shopping list, or do you never forget to buy chocolate?

Do you eat it in secret or do you share?

Reveal your thoughts on chocolate to me. I promise I won’t tell on you… ;-)

  • While you’re thinking about what to write (or what NOT to write!), why not vote on this poll…

I’ve got a couple of recipes using chocolate to share in the next few days after all, chocolate should be eaten regularly, not just on International Chocolate Day! :D

50 thoughts on “International Chocolate Day!

  1. Mmmm, I did not know today was international chocolate day (wait, according to the date on your post that would be tomorrow for me – Hooray – I can prepare for it!). :-) I enjoy a good chocolate treat, especially if it is combined with berries.

  2. I never get out of chocolate – have it in mind when I go shopping. My favourite is milk with whole nuts, followed by Creola (Lindt). Friends of mine and my mother buy my favourite chocolate to offer it to me.

  3. On holiday a couple of years ago we found a shop selling chocolate ice cream – dark and rich chocolate ice cream studded with small pieces of slightly spiced, candied orange peel. It was one of the best things I’ve ever tasted, so I think this would have to be my favourite way to eat chocolate!

  4. um chocolate! yummmmmy!! I really like the chocolates with the almonds and another type found only at the chocolate factory called dark buckeyes. a pound usually lasts me about a day. lol.
    rose

  5. Cathy: I could go on and on about chocolate; some of it would be pretty, the rest would be a pathetic display of a junkie in need of a fix….of course I crave chocolate at night, DARK CHOCOLATE…My favorite, the 70% Lindt bar…Yes! That’s the one.
    I am drooling right now, it is so embarrasing… :)

  6. I love the colour and smell of chocolate more than the taste (I know…. I’m odd!!). Very funny list cathy, especially the important information about chocolate not liking heights! LOL :-)

  7. Oh yeah! I´m definitely a chocaholic. My favourite chocolate is also Milka. Can you believe I have a colleague who doesn´t like chocolate???

  8. Pingback: Chocolate Cosmos | The Pyjama Gardener

  9. Rarely a day goes by that I don’t eat chocolate in some form. People think I exercise to stay healthy, but it is really so I can keep my chocolate habit up! One of the best gifts I ever received was a Hershey Spa Set from my sister. Bath oil, lotion that smelled just like the real thing!

    • Hi Sheryl… now that cake sounds good. :D I made a chocolate zucchini cake last year with caramelised walnuts on top, but my zucchini ran out this year! (I suppose I could buy some, but it’s not the same!)

Leave a Reply

