In A Vase on Monday: Moon Daisies and Harebells

Every Monday Cathy at Rambling in the Garden hosts this meme where we are asked to show a seasonal vase of flowers. Thanks as always to Cathy, and all the participants who have been inspiring me over the past few weeks!

I have been really smitten with the moon daisies (ox-eye daisies) and harebells flowering in and around our garden at the moment, and despite the wind and showers they are still looking pretty…. hence this week’s vase…

VaseMoonDaisies1

A few grasses were added to add a little height.

As usual I couldn’t find the right spot to take a photo… I tried on the stairs (above), then on the mantelpiece (below)…

VaseMoonDaisies4

Then I spotted the patch of sunlight falling through our circular skylight, which made the vase look like a diva on stage with the spotlight shining on her!

VaseMoonDaisies5

The moon daisies (Leucanthemum vulgare) will go on flowering for some time yet, so they may feature again soon.

VaseMoonDaisies2

Hope your weather is calmer than ours wherever you are!

:D

24 thoughts on “In A Vase on Monday: Moon Daisies and Harebells

  1. I was intrigued to see that you have ‘harebells’, Cathy, as I always thought they were a peculiarly Scottish flower, and also that you call the others ‘moon daisies’ – aren’t common plant names fascinating? They make a lovely combination for your vase, and I like your experimental photos – but your spotlit one is a superb result, even if you did discover it by accident! Thank you so much for joining in.

    • Harebells are common all over central Europe too, but known by various names. The German name is “bell flower” (Glockenblume). The photos are the tricky bit Cathy… but learning is fun! ;-)

    • Thanks Donna. We have had enough of the wet stuff for a while too – I don’t think we have had such a damp spring since moving here. (9 years now).

    • This skylight does produce nice effects… at night the moonlight sometimes shines there, which would have been more appropriate for this week’s flowers!

  2. Sadly our weather hasn’t been very calm for the last week Cathy. Your flowers are lovely and fresh feeling this week – more calm summer day than a wet and wild spring one – I will have to wait a while for ox eye daisies. I really love the spotlight photo – I often move things around before I find the right spot for a photo.

    • Thanks Julie – one day I will find the ideal photo spot, but currently I spend ages wandering round the house with vase and camera in hand! It’s cold and stormy here – sunny one minute and hailing the next! Hope we both get some stable weather for when the peonies open. Although rain is always an excellent excuse for cutting them to bring indoors!

  3. I love your vase of wild flowers Cathy. It’s especially fun to see you used ox-eye daisies as I just took note of them last week during a garden tour. The entire front yard of one garden was a mix of ox-eye daisies and geraniums–so much nicer than grass. Your images turned out well. I’m always searching for a place to photograph flower arrangements too. I can seldom get enough light.

    • Oh yes, mixed with geraniums I bet that front yard looked really pretty. The daisies seem to be standing up to the wind and hail well too!

  4. Beautiful combination! I love that name for the oxeyes – “moon daisies.” Here they are considered noxious weeds. You still see them out in the ditches and pastures sometimes but I guess eventually they will all be eradicated. It’s too bad – they’re pretty!

    • That is a shame about the Moon Daisies. I can’t imagine why they are considered a weed – such harmless little things – here at least! ;-)

    • Maybe you know them under a different name? We only have harebells just outside our garden, but most of our lawn would be moon daisies if we didn’t cut it. With the dogs we have to keep the grass low… Thanks for visiting Kris!

    • Yes, I also think of June and midsummer nights with moon daisies reflecting under a bright moon… just think, only about 6 weeks till the longest day. How time flies!

Leave a Reply

