Tuesday View (13th May)

Have you been having such temperamental weather too? One minute we have black skies, blustery winds and rain or even hail, and the next minute the sun is shining strongly again, like in this photo of the view today…

TuesdayView13thMay1

A large mouse tunnel had made one of the poppies droop, and on inspection I found that the rock in the centre of the rockery was loose and needed resetting… what fun with practically no footholds in that spot and nice muddy soil… I took the opportunity to plant a new Geranium ‘Rozanne’ while I was there. This is what I call vertical gardening! LOL!

TuesdayView13thMay2

In the front garden my Centaurea montana has been flowering beautifully. It is in a very shady spot under the yew, and usually gets either blackfly or mildew, or both… I’m keeping my fingers crossed as it’s looking very healthy so far.

CentaureaMontana

Do you have problems with mildew on certain plants? Any tips for treating it?

33 thoughts on “Tuesday View (13th May)

    • I agree – a long spring, even if somewhat cool and damp at times, is much better than going from boots to sandals within a few days! ;-)

  1. Boots to sandals it usually is here; at the moment, weather-wise) it is still boots but the flowers now think its summer after such a mild winter. What are the bright green clumps in the first image? Even in the larger image I can’t quite see what they are?

    • Hi Christina. Do you mean the lavender bushes? They have got lovely fresh growth. I really should cut more of them right down next winter, but then it looks so bare without them! :)

  2. I have had mildewy plants. My neighbor’s crepe myrtle has sent some shoots into my yard and I have been letting them grow but early each spring it does tend to get some mildew growth. Each morning I go out and spray it with a vinegar solution starting from the soil and working my way up. The problem goes away when the hot weather hits. I mix 1 tablespoon vinegar into 2 cups of watre but our water is very, very hard. I have heard of other peopel using 1 tablespoon of vinegar for every 4 cups of water. I can tell it is mildew because as soon as I spray the acidity of the vinegar kills the mildew on contact. I spray up instea of going down to avoid spores falling to the ground. That way any spores falling down just fall onto the vinegar solution. It isn’t a perfect fix because the problem recurs but it has worked well enough for the moment. a better idea would be to grow a mildew resistant plant. haha

    • This is a really good tip – thanks! If I do get a problem this year I shall have to try that out. I gave up on growing Monardas a few years ago as they always succumbed (I think one plant is still alive), and I am not growing zucchini this year for the same reason! ;-)

  3. Such a pretty view. I never have luck growing Centaurea but really like them. My bee balm usually gets mildew and sometimes zinnias, I guess from poor air circulation. We could still use rain here, very hot and dry.

    • I am growing zinnias for the first time this year, so I will have to keep an eye on them. Wish I could send you some of our rain… although it is relatively dry here today so far!

  4. Your view is really filling out with plants now that everything is growing strongly. Weather wise we’re similar to you – hail, torrential rain and warm sun all in one day.

  5. Was für eine traumhafte Aussicht.
    Flockenblumen (Centaurea) wuchern hier sehr stark. Sie mögen den kalkhaltigen Boden in meinem Garten. Leider erkranken auch bei mir verschiedenen Stauden an Mehltau. Meist sind es die Monarden. Ich schneide sie dann zurück. Wenn auch das nicht hilft, dann greife ich zu einem Fungizid.
    VGAnette

    • Bei mir ist der Boden auch sehr kalkig. Die Monarden sind bei mir vor ein paar Jahren eingegangen, wahrscheinlich wegen Trockenheit und Mehltau. :( Schön, dass Du vorbeigeschaut hast Anette!

  6. Our weather is up and down too colder and very heavy showers today but forecast sunny and warm tomorrow. I do get Powdery mildew on courgette leaves and this year read comfrey tea helps, I haven’t tried it yet myself but will give it a go.

    • I’ve got comfrey growing in our wild bit of garden, so I will make a note of that. I decided to give courgettes a miss this year, as the mildew was so bad last year I had a very poor harvest. I might try next year again, but in a different spot.

  7. My Pulmonaria has got mildew and now and then a Helleborus. I don´t know how to treat, only cut the leaves down. Perhaps my plants are growing in a too shady and wet place.

    • I’d definitely cut back the leaves on the Pulmonaria as they will probably produce new ones before the heat of summer then. The weather is perfect for mildew… I’ve been lucky so far this year. Maybe you could try the tip Debra gave with vinegar water…?

  8. I have only had trouble with roses and mildew. I sprayed on a baking soda and water mixture which I later rinsed off. Don’t go by this because I probably have no idea what i am doing. haha. It seemed to work for me but then I am just lucky.

  9. Mildew can be really tough. I won’t use chemicals but I do try to site mildew-prone plants in an area with some airflow. Our summers in NY are so hot & sticky it’s a constant battle. Good luck!

    • Hi Donna – hope all’s well with you. It’s still very spring-like here with showers and cool temperatures, but next week summer should be on the way! Have a good weekend! :D

  10. Sorry, the only cure for mildew that I’ve found is to cut back or even remove the plants, though more air helps. I always plant too close for that to work. We’re having thunderstorms at the moment, not conducive to weeding!

    • I usually cut anything affected right back too… the Monarda were thoroughly devastated by it and I don’t think any have come up this year. But that’s better as I don’t need to worry about it spreading then!

Leave a Reply

