In a Vase on Monday: A Red Peony

Once again I have spent several days contemplating the contents of my Monday vase for the In a Vase on Monday meme, in which we show a seasonal vase of flowers picked from our own gardens. The first early peonies are going over already, but the others are just starting to open. This red one is stunning, although with no fragrance…

VasePeony1

With some Euphorbia and Alchemilla, and a single strand of Fennel, this peony stands out even better.

And this week I even have a prop to go with my flowers…

VasePeony4

A surprise parcel arrived this morning – a handmade beaded glass cover from my sweet and talented sister!

VasePeonyBeads

I think it’s beautiful, and wish I was able to make things like this.

:D

We finally have blue skies again today, so finding a photo spot was not as tricky as last week!

VasePeony3

Hope you have a sunny week, and why not take a look at some of the other In a Vase on Monday posts which are linked on Cathy’s page at Rambling in the Garden.

Thanks for hosting Cathy!

 

37 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday: A Red Peony

    • Thanks Dana. I must admit I am always hesitant to cut my peonies, but with a hot spell forecast for the next few days this one might last better in a vase! I do often bring in the fragranced ones though as they spoil so easily and the scent in the house is wonderful! Enjoy your peony too!

  1. You are brave cutting a peony, their life is so short, even in the garden. The acid colours of the euphorbias and Alchemilla work wonderfully with the colour of the peony. Your day is much sunnier than ours.

    • Thanks Claire. Perhaps you can join in one week. It has opened my eyes to just how much there is out there worth bringing in to the house to enjoy!

  2. You have taken so beautiful pictures of the vase and your sister´s surprise. I get summer feelings. :) In the evening the High pressure syterm reached Northern Germany!

    • It’s very warm here Uta, and we are making the most of it while it lasts… garden work and a picnic on the lawn with the dogs are planned! ;-)

  3. Your red peony works perfectly with the chartreuse foliage. I love this–sort of a modern look. (I used peonies today also). Your blue sky is glorious–enjoy.

    • Thanks Susie. I really love this Euphorbia, and the Alchemilla flowers are sure to open this week too. I like your word for the colour – chartreuse – perfect!

  4. Lovely flower arrangement and so beautiful and artistic crochet-work from Susan – wonderful! Have a sunny week too, Cathy!

  5. I struggled to leave a comment on your blog last night as it kept timing out, so don’t know if you will end up with a duplicated one! You are quite right about the alchemilla and euphorbia setting off the peony – I must remember that I have plenty of the former that I could use and will perhaps think about getting some of this euphorbia too. Thanks for this lovely vase :) We have had lots of blue sky here but are expecting rain for the rest of the week now (don’t mind, I must be honest!)

    • Hi Cathy. This is a good way of using up some of the Alchemilla. I pull out huge quantities every year and it still grows back! We are looking forward to a week of sunny weather, but by the weekend we’ll be begging for rain too! ;-)

    • Thank you Chloris. My sister has both talent and inspiration! Peony season is just beginning and I love them more and more each year too. :)

    • That’s a kind comment Sarah – thank you! My first peony to flower is pink, and is directly in front of a clump of Euphorbia and Fennel, so the idea came from there. :)

  6. Beautiful! I was pleased you took a close up of the beads on the cover your sister made, little gems, so pretty. I love the contrast of the red peony with the lime of the euphorbia.D.

Leave a Reply

