A Fruity Flowery Flan

Strawberry season is just about here…

… and the first German strawberries are in the shops. It feels very much like summer already!

FruitFlan1

I posted my recipe for Strawberry Flan here a couple of years ago. This is exactly the same recipe, just using kiwis and blueberries in addition to make a flower pattern.

Fruit Flan

  • 3 free-range eggs
  • 75g (2/5 cup) caster sugar (use part vanilla sugar if you like)
  • 75g (3/5 cup) self-raising flour
  • butter/flour for greasing pan
  • a punnet of strawberries, two kiwis and a few blueberries
  • 1 packet Dr Oetker “Tortenguss”/Clear Glaze/Arrowroot, with 1 tbsp sugar, 50ml (3 tbsps) elderflower cordial and 200ml(7 fl oz) water (follow packet instructions for the quantiies of liquid)

Preheat oven to 200°C/400F and grease and flour a flan tin.

With an electric mixer, beat eggs and sugar in a large bowl until pale and fluffy. Fold in sieved flour carefully. Pour mixture into pan and bake for 7-10 mins until lightly golden and springy to touch. Remove cake from oven and cool for a few minutes. Turn onto a rack to cool completely.

Place cake on your cake platter.

Slice the strawberries and kiwis and spread over the flan as in the picture if you wish to create a flower pattern. Add the blueberries to the middle. Prepare the glaze according to the instructions of your packet glaze. Quickly spread over the fruit and allow to set.

FruitFlan3

A healthy dessert, but it does also taste very good with whipped cream!

FruitFlan4

 ;-)

 

59 thoughts on “A Fruity Flowery Flan

  1. The kiwis and blueberries really accentuate the strawberry design. Strawberries are in short supply here this year. The usual farmers we buy from have none or very limited supplies, but I’ll keep searching.

    • I wanted to pile loads more on, but then I wouldn’t have had enough glaze to cover them…. I just ate the rest of the punnet instead! ;-)

  2. A veritable feast for both eyes and mouth Cathy. The first of the English strawberries are just coming in to the shops too but they must be either grown undercover or further south. At the allotment mine are probably still two or three weeks away. The anticipation is mounting :)

    • I think these are grown outside but under low plastic tunnels, and they are from a nearby farm too! :D I think the fields for Pick Your Own will be opening pretty soon here.Can’t wait!

    • It only took a few minutes Pauline, and the flan itself is so quick to make. We did admire it for a few seconds before slicing it up! ;-)

  3. Red puppies, red stawberries, …. summer! I´ve already eaten strawberries from our garden. My father had put a plastic shelter above some plants and they riped early. :)

  4. This delicious fruity flower is a real baker´s work of art, so perfectly arranged and almost too
    beautiful to destroy… Have a nice day, Cathy!

  5. This looks fabulous! I’m always impressed with how well presented your dishes are and how you add all the extra touches such as a lovely table cloth. We had our first basket of strawberries from the growers here a couple weeks ago and I made a strawberry topping which we eat with ice cream, pancakes, or cheesecake. I will have to try this next time!

    • Thank you so much Marian! I try and make different cakes every year with strawberries in, but the problem is that the strawberries rarely make it to the cake stage as they tend to get eaten fresh as soon as they enter the kitchen… ;-)

  6. Lovely! And delicious, I’ll bet! Ok, here’s my American question du jour, what’s a punnet?! Is it a pint? Believe or not, we get Dr. Oetker products here so that part’s easy. Not sure about the elderflower cordial–do you have a substitute? Thanks in advance for your advice!

    • A punnet is actually the paper or plastic container they are sold in – usually a pound (500g). :D Any kind of cordial could be used – maybe redcurrant for colour? But I have made it with just sugar and water too and it’s still delicious! If you do make it, enjoy!

  7. Cathy, pass a slice here! I netted my strawberries today, should be a few weeks and then I’ll be able to reciprocate :) Like your glaze and the addition of arrowroot too – I’ll have to try that. Hope you have a super weekend

  8. Its very late at night, I am eating a plain dry ryvita but my mouth is watering looking at your dessert. I also really like the precision, it looks like a relaxing and rewarding pudding to make.

  9. That is one of the most beautiful desserts I’ve seen! Seriously! I don’t think I could attempt it because I could never make it look like that. So tempting though…I bet it is fabulous tasting.

    • But it’s so simple Andrea! Do give it a try when berry season starts near you… it doesn’t matter what the design looks like as it will still taste good whatever! :D

  10. Absolutely delicious looking! I was just overseeing the strawberry blooms this evening and thoughts of a nice strawberry dessert did cross my mind….. although ripened fruit is still a far off prospect.
    If I can make it past fresh eating I’ll try this next!

    • That is a problem I encounter too Frank… the strawberries, raspberries and blueberries rarely get processed as they are devoured immediately! But that is the fun of berry season!

  11. This is just beautiful, Cathy! Really gorgeous. I’ve never made anything quite like this and I’m delighted to have a good recipe. The strawberries really look delicious. This just looks like spring. :-)

    • It’s an easy dessert that looks like it took hours to create, but believe me – it’s so simple and quick to make! Hope you give it a try one day Debra! :) And have a wonderful weekend!

  12. In my perfect world you and I are neighbors… and I get to come sit in your garden each afternoon and have a slice of homemade dessert with you!!! Another mouthwatering creation Cathy :-)

Leave a Reply

