Celebrating September; Reiberdatschi

CelebratingSep2

Autumn has always been my favourite time of year. As a child I enjoyed the return to school (believe it or not!) and properly ordered days.

CelebratingSep3

Later I relished in the cooler weather after heat/sunburn irritated my sensitive skin. And thoughts of golden Octobers, with all those rich colours, also made me happy even before I became a gardener.

CelebratingSep1

Now I tend to look towards gardening chores and cooking opportunities, as the fruits ripen, pumpkins become available on the local market, and the cooler weather requires warm, aromatic and comforting food.

CelebratingSep4

Taking geranium cuttings, drying lemon verbena, processing the last of the basil into pesto for eating and freezing, ordering bulbs for spring, dividing plants, and generally taking stock… that’s what I have been doing this week. I have also made a huge pot of apple compote with apples our neighbour gave us, which we ate warm with vanilla ice cream, as well as with this traditional Bavarian dish: Reiberdatschi, otherwise known as potato cakes, potato rösti or potato pancakes… I guest-posted this a couple of years ago on Claire’s pages at Promenade Plantings, but here it makes its first appearance.

I’m linking in this time to Donna’s Seasonal Celebrations at Gardens Eye View, where Donna asks us how we are celebrating the season’s change as the autumn equinox approaches. Thanks Donna!

Reiberdatschi

Reiberdatschi1(I think you’ve met my Bavarian bear Franz before… 😉 )

  • 1 lb/500g new potatoes
  • 1 onion
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp flour
  • salt and pepper
  • oil for frying

Roughly grate the potato and onion. Stir in everything else and heat the oil in a large frying pan/skillet. Drop spoonfuls of the mixture into the hot oil and turn down the heat immediately. Turn each potato cake immediately too, and flatten a little with a spatula. Now cook on a medium heat for about 8 minutes. Turn and cook the other side for a further 8 minutes, until golden brown.

Serve hot with plain – or very slightly spiced – cold apple compote.

Reiberdatschi2

Enjoy your September!

🙂

43 thoughts on “Celebrating September; Reiberdatschi

  1. When I was much younger, autumn was my favourite time of year too, but not now! Although I love all the autumn jobs, planting ( the only time it is really possible) planting bulbs with all the wonderful sense of expectation that that brings; maybe the fact that there isn’t a great deal of autumn colour to enjoy, the temperature differences between day and night aren’t different enough to produce much colour. I enjoy autumn because it is when we harvest our olives but it is early spring I now love the best.

    • It’s a shame you don’t get much autumn colour Christina – I hadn’t really thought about it, but I suppose the type of trees growing near you is also different to ours. We get beech and sycamores mainly creating colour here. And larch, which I love. Enjoy your autumn planting nonetheless! I see it as a kind of ritual here for me! 🙂

    • Hi Ema. No, don’t use caramelized onions! The vegetables must be raw or the consistency will be all wrong! This is a traditional recipe passed on through generations, so I think they’ve got it right! 😉

  2. Cathy what a perfect way to celebrate the coming of autumn than to cook from the garden. This will definitely be on my list to cook as fall approaches. I also loved the coming of fall as a child and now as a gardener it is the busiest time in the garden as we are cooking and preserving the harvest. Thank you Cathy for linking in to celebrate the change in seasons!

    • Thanks Donna. The apples don’t keep long, so I am making apple strudel today with some of the bruised ones… 🙂 Have a lovely Sunday and enjoy your autumn harvest too!

    • I adore my little maple tree Michael. It was here when we moved to this house hidden under mounds of juniper and ivy which we removed completely. It made an astounding recovery!

    • We have had some of that lovely September weather this week Chloris… hot in the sun, but wiith enough cloud passing over to give us a breather now and then. 🙂

  3. Oh those pancakes look good! You’re right that autumn is the time to bring back the comfort foods.
    Fall is not my favorite season, so I don’t want to spoil your cheer, but even I will admit it’s nice to be able to work outside again without drowning in a miserable sweat!

    • Having said that, we had a really hot day just as I decided to divide some very large plants… back-breaking and thirsty work in the sun! Yes, comfort food is back now the kitchen is cooler, and it’s apple strudel today! 😉 Have a great Sunday!

  4. September is a good time of year and should definitely be celebrated – all those beautiful flowers and richly coloured leaves. And then there’s the late summer and autumnal harvesting and seed collecting to enjoy too.

    • A good time and a nusy time. But I struck one task off my list – the birds are having such a good time stripping the elderberries off the trees that I decided to let them have them all. No elderberry syrup for us this year, but I have plenty of elderflower syrup instead!

  5. After spring autumn is my favourite season. Mmmmmm – have the apples and the new potatoes too. Would not have thought of combining them so thanks for the idea Cathy 🙂

  6. I love the look of the tall grassy plant in your garden, Cathy. It’s particularly appealing to me. I think i’m noticing the grasses more and more because they tend to be more drought tolerant and do well in my climate. They strike me as interesting focal points that set a wonderful backdrop for other color. And the potato pancakes are the best in comfort food. 🙂 Thanks for a tried and true recipe!

    • Oh yes, grasses really are a highlight in the autumn.Some of them catch the sunlight so nicely, and move in the breeze too. I think they add structure to the garden all year round. 🙂

  7. I can’t quite welcome Autumn yet and still do not feel ready for the inevitable cooler temperatures and changing colours, as beautiful as they are. We had another steady warm and sunny day today with temperatures in the low 20’s. Good gardening weather.

    • It’s been very humid here and I have only managed a few bursts of activity in the garden in the last few days…I am looking forward to the cooler autumn days now!

  8. Your September garden and table are worth celebrating. Last week was unbearably hot again but supposedly will cool for a few days (to 80F). No rain for about 3 weeks though.

  9. Oh, now you’re talking my language. Potato pancakes are one of my absolutely most favorite things, except in our family they are called latkes. And they must be made with lots of onion, and eaten with apple sauce and sour cream.

  10. Pictures of your September garden are very beautiful …as always…Autumn is my favourite time of year too. Enjoy these lovely September days, Cathy!

  11. For all the times I’ve eaten potato dishes in Germany, I’ve not often seen potato pancakes on the menu and I love them. I’m going to start picking apples in our orchard and I think I will make this pairing.

    • I bet they are more of a home recipe than a restaurant dish, although they are often served at fairs and festivals. I’ve had them at Christmas markets too. Have you ever been to Germany around Advent/Christmas? The markets are lovely!

    • There was a slight blip in the pleasant days today, with steady rain the whole day. But the forecast is more sunshine next week… and my bulb order has arrived! Can’t wait to get started! 😉

  12. Pingback: Seasonal Celebrations Revealed-Autumn 2014 | Gardens Eye View

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.