Into the New Year

As I write it is still the last day of the year and we had some lovely warm sunshine today: 13°C!

So to ring out the old year here are a few pictures of my leisurely wander around the garden with Anouk this morning.

The blue sky and sunshine was a real treat…

This is the corner Anouk likes to inspect first every morning, as the hares come through the fence there…

Still a few rose hips left in the hedge…

And some morning mist across the meadow beyond our fence…

Anouk, checking for mice…

The buzzards often sit on the perches first thing to warm their wings in the sun… we put up several of these to encourage the birds of prey to help keep the mice population down.

The hellebores are in bud!

 

Can she smell Spring? (No, probably deer or hares!)

Wishing you all the very best for the new gardening year. Health, happiness and lots of flowers!

Happy New Year!

 

42 thoughts on “Into the New Year

  1. Our daytime high temperature was virtually the same today, Cathy – but I can’t say I thought it was warm 😉 In my defense, there was a chilly wind blowing…I enjoyed my visit tailing Anouk. Best wishes for a wonderful new year!

  2. What beautiful photos, Cathy. The photo of the mist is utterly enchanting! And I do hope Anouk was able to sense an early spring. 🙂 Wishing you a very happy and healthy 2022, Cathy.

    • Thanks Debra! Anouk has a good nose, but it was probably the deer she could smell…. they sleep in the tall grass we left standing just outside the fence… 😃

  3. You certainly live in a beautiful place and Anouk seems to appreciate it too :D. Oh, you have hellebores in flower already, how wonderful! Mine are still sleeping which is probably just as well as it’ll get colder towards the end of the week. The owls are very active during the night…love is in the air, I’m glad they’re untouched by our madness ;). Best wishes to you too, stay brave, sane and cheerful xx

    • That hellebore already flowering was a new one I bought in flower in November, so cheating really! But there are buds on the others. 😃 Really mild again today. Must be lovely watching the owls. Keep smiling Annette! 🤗

  4. On the infrequent occasions when I come across the name Anouk, I think of the actress Anouk Aimée and the film “Un homme et une femme.” I see that she’s still alive and will be 90 in a few months.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.