Wild and Weedy Wednesday: Bindweed and Silver Cinquefoil

This little seedling looks so innocent and full of promise…

But it is an evil weed that will choke your plants if you let it get hold!

Bindweed!

Otherwise known as Convolvulus. I have at least two different sorts (Convolvulus arvensis and Fallopia convolvulus, also called black-bindweed) and have been picking seedlings out of my new garden bed. Grrrr! And here it is encroaching on the pebbles around our house foundation.

I can’t think why it is also called Morning Glory. More like Morning Horror! (Okay, the flowers can look nice, but not if they are in my garden!)

Bindweed is definitely one of my most hated weeds, as once you have it, it is impossible to get rid of. A few years ago I read about a man in Britain who dug down in his allotment to see just how far the roots went…. he was down well over six feet when he gave up! 😆😫 (If anyone can find that article I’d love to see it!)

So, I don’t have many photos of it as I usually only photograph pretty things. Instead, I will share a different plant that is growing in our meadow at the moment: Potentilla argentea, or Silver Cinquefoil.

This is very pretty indeed, and I have lots of photos of it! 😉

It loves a well-drained hillside facing the sun. Preferably with poor soil. Perfect! Before it opens, the buds have a distinct silvery tinge, possibly due to the tiny ‘hairs’ on them. In addition, the backs of the leaves are also silvery. You can see how it got its name. Silver and gold. And apparently it should go on flowering all summer.

Have you perhaps seen some of this pretty Silver Cinquefoil near your home?

Or do you have bindweed in your garden? Any secret tips to get rid of it? Like dynamite? 🤣

All are welcome to join me in sharing a weed or wild flower every Wednesday throughout this summer. Have a great week, and Happy Weeding!

 

27 thoughts on “Wild and Weedy Wednesday: Bindweed and Silver Cinquefoil

  1. I’m with you as far as bindweed is concerned in the garden, but seeing it in the wild is fun.

    We know the flowers as ‘Granny-pop-out-of bed’.

    If you pinch the green bit at the bottom of the flower the flower jumps off.

  2. Your Convolvulus arvensis has made it across the Atlantic to become invasive in the United States, too. One website says “C. arvensis most likely was introduced in North America as a contaminant in crop seed as early as 1739.”

  3. We have bindweed but not the pretty Cinquefoil. I didn’t realize that the bindweed’s roots extended that deep – that reminds we of what I think is Bermuda grass, which we inherited with our garden. We took all our lawn out after we moved in but this grass keeps coming back and I’m never able to get deep enough the get all of the roots, which is a big problem when it grows up between prickly succulents!

    I have another weedy post myself this week, which can be found here: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2024/06/wild-weedy-wednesday-wanna-be-weeds.html

  4. Oh, gosh, a 6′ root sounds like a forb that grows on a prairie. We have a different kind of bindweed, but being perennial, is a nuisance. We do have the silver cinquefoil and I happen to like it, quite pretty!

  5. Cinquefoil is lacking here, but a native species of bindweed is common. Although annoying within gardens, it can compete with more combustible weeds outside of landscapes.

  6. Bindweed is a problem I know. You have to dig it out and dig deep. but when you have lots of it it will be a hard job.

  7. There’s bindweed in my garden too Cathy but at least unlike the bane of my life the dreaded mares tail it has an attractive flower 😂 Good luck with your battle to suppress it!

  8. Oh Cathy – I imagine you opened a floodgate of bindweed moaning with this one! I won’t add to it except to say I Share Your Pain!!! I also share the Potentilla! As you say, so beautiful!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.