In a Vase on Monday: Bohemian

Autumn has arrived, accompanied by still, chilly, misty mornings and golden sunshine. As I collected flowers this morning for my Monday vase I realised that fellow bloggers around the world will be doing the same at some stage today; a lovely thought, giving me that sense of connecting with like-minded people across the miles. 😀

This special vase* may or may not be Bohemian glass, but inspired me to try and create something romantic, gypsy-like, with a little wildness to it. I am not sure I succeeded, but the result is nonetheless pleasing!

I used Roses, Aster ‘Lutetia’, Scabiosa, Verbena, Cosmos, Helianthus, Golden Rod, Geranium, Anemone ‘Serenade’ and some sprigs of Sage, Miscanthus, Teucrium and various odds and ends of foliage.

I love this Aster, which is flowering extra long this year after all the rain we have had this summer.

Thanks go to Cathy at Rambling in the Garden for hosting this meme, where we are encouraged to create an arrangement from materials in our gardens. Do visit her to see what she and others have found this week to plonk/arrange carefully in a vase/suitable alternative receptacle, with or without props!

Happy Autumn!

(Or Spring if you are in the southern hemisphere! 🙂  )

*A gift from my neighbour‘s daughter, as a memento of her dear parents.

56 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday: Bohemian

    • This year was quite different to many summers and regular showers kept the garden looking green for ages. I hope you have some rain to revive your garden soon Linda!

  1. The sunny light looks gorgeous in your photographs today Cathy; isn’t it wonderful when the temperature drops enough so that we can enjoy the sun rather than hiding from it. your flowers look very summery today – maybe autumn will hold back for just a little while.

    • Oh yes, I actually sat in the sun for a while yesterday without fear of sunburn! Perfect for doing odd jobs outdoors too. 🙂 I am enjoying this season, whatever you call it…. Indian summer?

  2. yes! We also have cool nights and hot days here along the coast of California. Everything in the garden is giving one last robust push before winter arrives. Your gorgeous vase captures all this exuberant glory perfectly!

    • The sage was a bit of an afterthought… not much pretty green or silvery foliage around at the moment. Making vases opens my eyes to what is missing in my garden! 😉

  3. I like the idea that we are all joining together too and it’s the sharing with appreciative people which makes is special. An elegant vase with very pretty contents, I’m sure it will last for days. It’s great that you still have so much flowering.

  4. Cathy a beautiful vase with a beautiful assortment of flowers that makes me think that it is still Summer by the abundance of her garden in beautiful flowers. I love. It is a divine bouquet of flowers. Greetings from Margarita.

  5. It is indeed a lovely romantic vase! 🙂 I love it all, and especially the lacy effect of the scabiosa. A perfect tribute to autumn…

    • Thanks Amy. I love that Scabiosa too and do hope it will set seed or perhaps even come up again next year. I am hoping for an extremely mild winter this year! 😉

  6. I think that you succeeded in your intent Cathy. As you say our vases join us together wherever we are in the world which is a heartwarming thought. Also it’s a brilliant way to discover new flowers. I’m off to find out more about aster ‘Lutetia’.

  7. I certainly like this arrangement, Cathy. I do like the carefree way the flowers create a composite bouquet that is almost spring-like, and this late in the season! The close-ups are particularly beautiful, my friend! I’m so glad you’re enjoying such lovely weather. 🙂

    • Thanks Debra! I am terribly late catching up with comments… in the meantime our lovely weather has faded away and we have had wind and rain and a temperature drop! We are hoping for a brief respite tomorrow before it gets chilly and wet again! 😉

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.