In a Vase on Monday: Sloe Fizz

The Blackthorn (Sloe) in our hedges is not quite open yet, but any day now the tiny white flowers will unfold and light up the hedgerows far and wide. In the meantime I brought a few branches indoors that had broken off or been partly severed by heavy snow in the winter. I was lucky, and most of them turned out to be still alive and opened within just a couple of days.

I really like the fizzy flowers close up. And they really do ‘fizz’!

The birds love this shrub, as it provides safe refuge from birds of prey. However, I have also seen shrikes in it (alongside the robinia) … the huge thorns are used to pierce their prey. Fortunately I have never seen this process up close!

This is defintely another shrub that could be forced even earlier in the year, so I must remember that for future winters.

I am joining Cathy at Rambling in the Garden again for her Monday meme, where we share things from our gardens in a vase each week. Do go over to visit her site, and maybe you’ll want to join in!

Have a great week!