In a Vase on Monday: An Artist’s Palette

I am back in Germany now, and after a short break from blogging I am pleased to be joining Cathy at Rambling in the Garden with a vase (well, actually two) filled with delights from my garden.

MondayVase25th1

On the left: A small pink Lilac Wonder, Jan Steen, Lucky Parrot, and Lilac Wonder again.

Centre top is unknown, and at the front is Aga Khan, a lovely bright double orange flower with a short stem, going well with the orange Princess Irene at the back. I think the pink parrot tulip on the right is Libretto, and the double white is called Gerard Dou.

The second vase below  contains Purple Dream, the yellow Flashback, Green Star, White Triumphator, Spring Green and a clashing red Eyecatcher. A few remain nameless, but nonetheless gorgeous.

MondayVase25th3

When I was asked to draw a flower as a child, I inevitably drew a tulip. Later, when asked what my favourite flower was, I would usually say tulips. No roses for me! Today I am still drawn to these beautiful and varied blooms. Aren’t they just fascinating?

~~

MondayVase25th4

On my return from the UK at the weekend I was amazed to find how far ahead Germany is already. With some very warm and sunny days recently the trees are more green than brown, the blackthorn blossom has been and gone and the tulips are in full force – many flowering earlier than usual so the combinations are a little over-the-top, but I love them!

However, it has turned very cold here again this week, and April is behaving badly as usual with wintry snow showers spoiling the intermittent sunshine. I did manage to catch the sun shining through a skylight in our hall though, creating the dramatic effect in the photos. Sometimes I wish I could paint…

I’ll leave you with a few pictures of the tulips outside, enjoying a drop of sunshine again after yet another snow flurry!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Have a lovely week everyone!