In a Vase on Monday: Golden Winners

Before I show you my Monday vase this week, a brief update on the vote for the Amaryllis in my post An Amaryllis Winter just before Easter. Thank you for joining in the fun vote and leaving comments too!

And the winner is…

Chico!

AmaryllisChico2

Closely followed by Lemon Star

Actually the poll showed Lemon Star ahead, but according to the comments I think Chico won by a slim margin of two points. 🙂 They were my favourites too and I hope to grow these two again next year.

So, now to my vase, as I join Cathy at Rambling in the Garden – along with many other vase creators around the world – in collecting materials from my garden to bring into the house every Monday.

Vase4th1

As you can see, I couldn’t NOT use my forsythia vase again. But this week I added some other golds to go with the Forsythia itself, which finally opened outdoors last Thursday after our first really warm day of the year.

(Since then we have had several hot days, over 20°C!)

Vase4th3

I’m afraid I have forgotten the names of the daffodils, but I think they don’t mind just being called “Daff”…

Vase4th7

I think this is Tulipa kaufmanniana ‘Heart’s Delight’.

I love the slight pink tinge around the tips of the petals, which is more prominent on those growing in partial shade.

Vase4th8

I also included some Euphorbia myrsinites, some of my yellow Hellebore flowers (‘Frühlingssonne’) which are now going over, and a couple of daffodils.

You can click on any image to enlarge them.

So April has got off to a good start with warmth and sunshine. I do hope it continues, but with some gentle rain overnight of course! 😉

Have a good week!