In a Vase on Monday: Emerging From Winter

The garden is a muddy mess, and far too wet to tidy up, but a few flowers are slowly starting to emerge and I too am starting to emerge from my winter hibernation. It is carnival season here and as soon as that is over I feel that spring can’t be far off. Well, I can hope…

The Primulas have been the second flower to appear this year, after the Cyclamen, although they still look rather raggedy. I found a perfect – but small – pale yellow one, which I picked for today’s vase.

And so it wasn’t lonely, I added a frilly pink Primula from a pot I have indoors…

…and some Violas I bought recently. The silvery sprig of Helichrysum italicum (curry plant) adds a little sparkle.

Another crochet project has just been completed, so I will be catching up on some blogs and reading my garden magazine in the next few days.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And perhaps I will make another doily for standing houseplants and vases on while I wait for the garden to dry up.

What do you do in bad weather when you can’t work in your garden?

Many thanks to Cathy at Rambling in the Garden for hosting this weekly meme.

🌷🐝🌷