Apple Strudel

My German “Oma”, in fact my partner’s grandmother, was famous for her apple strudel… the creamy, crispy edges, the juicy filling, and the soft strudel dough would make your mouth water. She often made one for us for Sunday lunch, and this was an event to be looked forward to!

The recipe was never written down (there WAS no recipe!), and her instructions were often contradictory… so her secret touch remains elusive. I’ve tried before to make her strudel, and this time it came pretty near… I shall continue to strive to recreate those edges, but in the meantime this one is not only original, but is also an extremely tasty, appley, creamy delight. No soggy pastry, no nuts and raisins, no icing sugar topping or cinnamon flavouring, no custard or ice cream, and hardly any added sugar. No, this is pure strudel!

Mmmm!

Here’s the recipe:

Apple Strudel

For the dough, mix together 350g (2 and 3/4 cups) strong/bread flour, a pinch of salt, 3 tbsps vegetable oil, 125ml (1/2 cup) lukewarm water, and 1 veg egg (1 tbsp soya flour and 3 tbsps water). Knead for at least 5 minutes until smooth and elastic. Divide into two pieces. Put in a clean bowl, brush with oil, cover, and leave in a warm place to rest for 30 minutes.

For the filling, mix 1kg (2 lbs) aromatic apples, peeled and thinly sliced, with 3 tbsps sugar and 1tsp cornflour.

Preheat the oven to 190°C, and butter a baking dish (36 x 18cm/14 x 7 in). Roll out each piece of dough to a 20cm/8 inch square. On a floured teacloth, continue to roll out the first one as thinly as possible, retaining the rectangular shape as far as possible, to about 45 x 30cm/18 x 12in. Put half the filling on the dough and spread almost to the edges. Brush edges with a little melted vegan butter. Using the teacloth to help, roll up the dough and slide into the dish. Do the same with the second piece of dough, using the teacloth again. Brush with a little oil or melted butter.

Bake for 40-50 minutes… but now comes the most important partevery ten minutes or so, open the oven door and pour over a little vegan cream! (I used 200ml altogether, which is 3/4 to 1 cup.) Don’t forget to breathe in deeply and sigh, each time you open the oven door! It smells so good!

Enjoy the pure apple flavour!

42 thoughts on “Apple Strudel

  1. Have been waiting for this recipe since you mentioned it a few weeks ago! Love the idea of opening the oven door, breathing in deeply and sighing – with my baking it’s more usual to open the oven door and cry out in despair!

    • I just thought the same! I think we’ll have to have this again before the neighbour’s apples are all gone! (They are so aromatic and juicy – perfect for strudel).

  2. OHHH and it is APPLE SEASON I must try this one too! Thanks Cathy My Mom, when making cakes used to tell us she never worried, we could always eat her mistakes! So try, try and try again all the while you get that goodness for yourself!

      • Fats are OK they are not evil well I have 129 Blood Cholesterol lol I shall pretend it is Avocado or Olive oil and just have a little and count it! I no longer eat out of anger,sadness,joy I eat when I am hungry. Feeding emotions with drugs,booze or food guess even sex for some is never the answer 🙂 I finally actually get hungry no more pushing and stuffing back emotions with food to make them go away. Funny how just doing one thing for ourselves can truly open your eyes 🙂 MINE ARE WIDE OPEN

        I love baking apples this will be nice for Halloween and Thanksgiving I will make one and cut it into small pieces so other weight watchers in class can see how it is done.

        Thanks for listening
        and for the goodies
        Love
        Eunice

    • The first time I made it I tried using my hands – as done traditionally, like the pizza-makers – to thin the dough… result: holes everywhere! This time I stuck to using a rolling pin, and it was fine!

  3. There is something with the secrets and traditions. I know how good Original Strudel taste in the South. I would not try it in northern Germany. It would not work, not be the same. I guess it needs the church service, sunday meal or something else in addition.

    • You’re right… food is tied up with other traditions or family rituals. Oma’s strudel was almost always made only in late summer to late autumn, with her own apples, and on Sundays!

  4. You’ve got to watch the Great British Bake Off – they had to make Strudel last week – its a nightmare – making the pastry so thin you can see through it – one poor chap sliced his thumb open – oh the dangers of baking!

  5. Pingback: An edible raffle prize « The Garden Deli

  6. Pingback: Fruity Clafoutis | Words and Herbs

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.