Vegan Books

Vegetarian Awareness Month is now coming to an end and has really been a month of “awareness” for me. I have examined labels, read articles, studied websites and perused cookbooks. Being vegetarian is so natural to me, but veganism…?

Here in the heart of Bavaria there is very little choice in the shops in the way of protein and nutrient-rich alternatives to dairy or eggs. Although we do have a lovely (tiny) health food shop  in our little town that supplies the bare essentials, it naturally cannot stock up with products just for me!… The nearest larger store for such produce is a fair drive away, and does not stock such specialities as vegan cheese/vegan cream cheese/egg substitute/tempeh etc, which I keep reading in recipes on other blogs!

But I’m making headway!

WordPress

This book is a gem:

The 30-Day Vegan Challenge

The 30-Day Vegan Challenge, by Colleen Patrick-Goudreau is an open and positive guide to going vegan. Never pushy, yet very convincing, it takes you through each step of eliminating animal products from your diet. I love the way it is written… it makes me feel good.




WordPress

This book is also wonderful:

The Vegan Table

The Vegan Table: 200 Unforgettable Recipes for Entertaining Every Guest for Every Occasion is also written by Colleen Patrick-Goudreau. She has a lovely style of writing and comes across as a caring cook. The recipes are grouped according to seasons, occasions and as menus. There are thoughtful tips and both simple and slightly more elaborate recipes. Normal food, cooked to preserve as many nutrients and as much flavour as possible, is presented with clear instructions and colour photos. I LOVE this book!

wordpress

And this book is fabulous too!

Vegan Cupcakes

Vegan Cupcakes Take Over The World: 75 Dairy-free Recipes for Cupcakes That Rule, by Isa Chandra Moskowitz & Terry Hope. Now this is great, since I’ve developed a love of baking recently, and if I can avoid eggs and animal fat I will. I’ve already tried the pumpkin chocolate chip cupcakes… deelish! Next to try is the cashew butter cardamom ones…. This will keep me busy for a few weeks. The best things about this book are, again, the clear instructions, as well as the amazing frosting recipes… all dairy free!

Suitable for non-vegetarians too!

NOTE: 1st November is World Vegan Day!