Rhubarb Crumble Chocolate Cake

I found the recipe for this cake on the UK Lindt website – I find Lindt chocolate unbeatable, especially for baking,  although Milka comes a close second. And this rhubarb chocolate combination is fabulous! The cake alone is a perfectly moist chocolate cake recipe which I will certainly use again for other cakes. The rhubarb and crumble topping adds some zing!

Rhubarb Crumble Chocolate Cake

CrumbleCake1

Here’s the original recipe, Lindt’s Rhubarb Chocolate Crumble Cake …. and here is mine, slightly adapted:

For the Crumble:

  • 50g (2 oz) cold butter, 100g (4 oz) flour, 50g (2 oz)sugar

Rub the butter into the flour and sugar until nice and crumbly

For the Cake:

Beat these ingredients together with a whisk/electric whisk.

  • 2 eggs
  • 200ml (4/5 cup) milk
  • 100ml (2/5 cup) sunflower oil
  • 75g (3 oz) icing (powdered) sugar
  • seeds of one vanilla pod
  • 100g (4 oz) melted dark chocolate (melt in a bain-marie)
  • a pinch of salt

Sift the next 3 ingredients and gently fold  into the batter with a large metal spoon.

  • 200g (8 oz) flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder

Pour into a 20 x 20cm (8×8 inch) pan lined with greaseproof paper.

Press 200g (8 oz) chopped rhubarb onto top of cake.

Sprinkle the crumble on top. Bake for 35-40 minutes at 180°C (350°F). (If making cupcakes, as the Lindt website shows, the baking time will only be about 20-25 mins)

CrumbleCake2

Have you been enjoying rhubarb season?

😀

29 thoughts on “Rhubarb Crumble Chocolate Cake

  1. Rhubarb and chocolate, what a spectacular combination of flavors! A voluptuous dessert to celebrate the arrival of spring!

  2. I have to admit I can’t quite imagine chocolate and rhubarb together, but hey! everything is worth trying at least once. thanks for the idea. Christina

  3. I can imagine this is very moist and moreish combination, I have so much rhubarb this year, I am definitely going to try your recipe out.

  4. Rhubarb and chocolate sounds like an interesting combination – just wishing now that I’d planted more rhubarb… too many recipes to try!

    • I have bought some a couple of times… It doesn’t do so well in my garden. I can imagine those tasty scones you posted with chocolate chips in them in place of the lemon too! 😉

  5. Well you have gone and added the one ingredient I will try with anything lol

    Hope all is well and do you know what happened to Judy(the Cupcake blogger?)

    • LOL! Always nice to hear from you Eunice. Not sure if I know the Judy you mean, so I probably can’t help there. Hope you’re getting some nice spring sunshine. 😀

      • Lots of Sun today was warm finally but ver windy so no painting 🙂 I planted corn and squash today I am 2 weeks early but I have blankets 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.