In a Vase on Monday: Seven Years, Seven Grasses

Congratulations go to Cathy at Rambling in the Garden today on the seventh anniversary of her wonderful Monday meme!

🥳🏆🌻

Each week gardeners scattered across the globe join her in putting materials from their gardens in various receptacles and sharing them. It is always a pleasure to have flowers indoors, but this week Cathy has challenged us to create a vase WITHOUT flowers!

Fortunately this is relatively easy for me at this time of year, as my grasses all look gorgeous right now. And there are seedheads still standing too.

I have several different Miscanthus now… above you can see Red Chief and Federweißer. Those small black seedheads are Rudbeckia fulgida from the Sunshine Bed.

Are these fireworks?!…

I saved some of my Allium seedheads earlier in the year, and they still have a slight pinkish tinge to them. Really sparkly in the sunshine.

Whereas this Allium below is completely grey, although I find it just as pretty. Next to it is an Echinacea seedhead. I have plenty of these dotted around and have only removed those that were toppling over.

Here is another one next to some bushy Pennisetum…

Another seedhead I love is this one… Queen Ann’s Lace. Like little stars.

And Scabiosa ochroleuca also has very pretty seedheads.

I also used a sprig of Hypericum for its berries, although they are rather dark. In front is some annual Briza, saved from last year.

I think I have four different Miscanthus in the vase, along with some Panicum, Eragrostis and an unnamed pinkish one which was also saved earlier in the year. All the names are recorded but I can’t recall all of them. I love grasses so much though that more will be added to the garden in the future.

It was fun putting this vase together. I haven’t added any water to it as these will all be dried and saved (except the Hypericum) for future winter fillers!

Many thanks to Cathy for keeping this lovely meme going for so long now. It has brought such joy over the years, and has often given me something to focus on in difficult times. (Especially this year!) I love sharing my vases and seeing other creations from fellow bloggers. Sometimes they are abundant, with masses of gorgeous blooms, sometimes minimal, introducing me to new plants, and always a lovely way to link up with gardeners near and far. 😃

Do visit Cathy today to see her celebratory vase.

And have a good week, especially if you are in a lockdown again like we are. Keep smiling and carry on gardening as long as the weather permits! 😃