In a Vase on Monday: A Little Spring Indulgence

A beautiful blue Anemone coronaria has appeared in a pot I bought several weeks ago. At first I thought there were only pink ones in it, but last week it surprised me and some blue buds opened as well. 😃

I have admired these on other people’s blogs for years, and can only hope these will come back next year for me if I plant them out when they go over. Which may be fairly soon as we have had some very warm weather. The heat prompted me to cut one, to enjoy indoors. It will probably last longer in a vase full of cold water anyway.

The golden tulip was also cut to preserve it a little longer…

… it has been 25°C for the second day in a row, which is hot for April!

Muscari and Forget-me-nots, a Cowslip, some Narcissi ‘Hawera’ and a yellow Hellebore bulked out the vase a little, along with some Lady’s Mantle leaves.

I feel this vase is an indulgence, cutting such lovely flowers to put in a vase. Something I would probably not do if it wasn’t for Cathy at Rambling in the Garden hosting this meme every week! (Do go and visit!) I am sure I have said this before, but the encouragement and inspiration from Cathy and the other contributors has transformed the way I see my garden, and cutting flowers is no longer as hard to justify. 😃

There are other flowers and buds on the Anemone, and a few more of these gorgeous yellow tulips – can’t remember their name but I think it is something like Texas Gold.

But wait, there’s another vase today! (What an indulgence – TWO vases! LOL!)

Do you recognize this flower?

Yes, a rhubarb flower – well, bud. I noticed it the other day and decided to cut it as my rhubarb plant is still so small. I just haven’t found the right spot for it yet. A new one was planted at the opposite end of the garden this spring and perhaps that will do better! Anyway, the flower is a bit odd, don’t you think! I put lots of purple Heuchera leaves around it to disguise the thick stem.

Thanks for visiting, and happy gardening!