In a Vase on Monday: A Little Spring Indulgence

A beautiful blue Anemone coronaria has appeared in a pot I bought several weeks ago. At first I thought there were only pink ones in it, but last week it surprised me and some blue buds opened as well. 😃

I have admired these on other people’s blogs for years, and can only hope these will come back next year for me if I plant them out when they go over. Which may be fairly soon as we have had some very warm weather. The heat prompted me to cut one, to enjoy indoors. It will probably last longer in a vase full of cold water anyway.

The golden tulip was also cut to preserve it a little longer…

… it has been 25°C for the second day in a row, which is hot for April!

Muscari and Forget-me-nots, a Cowslip, some Narcissi ‘Hawera’ and a yellow Hellebore bulked out the vase a little, along with some Lady’s Mantle leaves.

I feel this vase is an indulgence, cutting such lovely flowers to put in a vase. Something I would probably not do if it wasn’t for Cathy at Rambling in the Garden hosting this meme every week! (Do go and visit!) I am sure I have said this before, but the encouragement and inspiration from Cathy and the other contributors has transformed the way I see my garden, and cutting flowers is no longer as hard to justify. 😃

There are other flowers and buds on the Anemone, and a few more of these gorgeous yellow tulips – can’t remember their name but I think it is something like Texas Gold.

But wait, there’s another vase today! (What an indulgence – TWO vases! LOL!)

Do you recognize this flower?

Yes, a rhubarb flower – well, bud. I noticed it the other day and decided to cut it as my rhubarb plant is still so small. I just haven’t found the right spot for it yet. A new one was planted at the opposite end of the garden this spring and perhaps that will do better! Anyway, the flower is a bit odd, don’t you think! I put lots of purple Heuchera leaves around it to disguise the thick stem.

Thanks for visiting, and happy gardening!

45 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday: A Little Spring Indulgence

  1. I like the rhubarb flower, I am not sure I have ever seen one. I have always lived too far south for rhubarb. The texture and color with the Heuchera is wonderful. I love the blue Anemone flowers as well and again, can’t hope for them in my garden. I am surprised it is warmer at your house than mine! I hope your spring isn’t speeded into summer.

  2. Lovely blue and gold combo, Cathy. I admire anemones (mostly in Kris’ garden), but my climate isn’t right for them, alas. I hope yours survive to rebloom.
    I recognised the rhubarb bud, we snap them off as they emerge on ours. I had to redo my bed last year, so I’m hoping they come back with gusto.

    • I think it will be a gamble, planting those Anemones out. But I will give it a go. I had some pink ones survive one winter in my last garden, so fingers crossed! As for rhubarb… I failed in my last garden too, despite a neighbour theeüre ripping out her whole rhubarb bed because it was taking over her garden! Wonder what I am doing wrong! LOL!

      • They like rotted manure compost, even moisture and cold winters. Mine got weak because I neglected to add annual compost. I have a friend with horses, so lots of good compost, and hers are HUGE!

  3. You probably know how much I Iike combinations of blue, white and yellow flowers so it won’t surprise anyone that I love yours – that unnamed tulip is beautiful. My blue Anemone coronaria are pretty much done but I’ll enjoy seeing the season continue with your blooms. The rhubarb flowers was a surprise as I’ve never seen one but you cast a spell with that simple pairing!

  4. I never knew rhubarb plants had flowers! And that Anemone is spectacular!

    I wish you could send some of your weather over to the UK, it’s dire here…rain and wind…ugh.

    • I keep hearing from my Mum in Northamptonshire that it has rained almost every day this year! Hope you get some warm weather soon Cathy. I suspect this is just a blip here and we will be back to cold and damp next week. It is still very cold at night here though.

  5. Haha! I considered cutting a rhubarb flower too – but then the fiery tulips put it out of my mind! We should use the rhubarb blooms in our vases more often!! 🤣

    I love your little spring posy, Cathy – blue and yellow always work so well together nad the fresh foliage and spent hellebores add weight to the combination. I can guess how thrilled you must be with your anemone as I have never succeeded with keeping them going and rarely get them to flower even in their first year – good luck with them. The blue anemone is especially striking, isn’t it? And your double tulip is gorgeous!

  6. Great idea with the rhubarb. I love the purple and yellow vase. My bulbs are quickly catching up so I bet it will be the colors of my next vase.

  7. That rhubarb flower and heuchera foliage bouquet is a marvel! The colour tones are a perfect blend. It makes me think of the artichoke flower in Hans Christian Andersen’s story about the Gardener and the Noble Family! ;) 

    And I love your anemone arrangement. I haven’t got the nerve to try planting them in this garden because I can’t keep the soil moist for them, but they are sooo lovely!

    • Yes, the anemones may end up staying in their pot rather than being planted out… they were such a wonderful investment as one little pot (which I planted into a larger one) has been flowering for at least 5 weeks now! 😃

  8. Cathy, I love your new-found attitude about cut flowers. Like you, they often seem to precious to cut for indoors, but I’m always cheered when I do. Your vases are lovely, and wow, that anemone is a treasure.

    • Sometimes even if I have just one decent flower on a plant I ‘sacrifice’ it and cut it for a vase. After all, many flowers last longer in a vase than outdoors anyway! And all thanks to this meme. 😄

  9. Rhubarb plants flower, do they? I didn’t know that! The other vase is lovely – the vase itself really caught my eye, and I know what you mean about Cathy and all the other IAVOM contributors inspiring our flower collecting. I am really enjoying seeing the variety of choices you have for your vase now your weather is warmer. Like you, I have discovered many flowers are happier indoors enjoying a nice cool vase of fresh water, rather the battling with the sun.

    • I never used to cut flowers for vases until I cane across Cathy’s meme, and then I struggled for a couple of years until my garden (at my old house) got established.

      • As strange as it sounds, I didn’t like to cut flowers from my garden before either, because it somehow seems cruel 😅 – now I see how it actually helps the plant as it is a mini pruning exercise that improves the plants future growth, and increases the flowers! Now the house feels bare without a vase of flowers placed somewhere. 😊

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.