Afternoon Tea at an English Hall

Before leaving for the UK for Easter I booked Afternoon Tea for my parents and me at an English country hotel. I was curious to revisit this hall, which had been a ruin on a favourite spring walk in my childhood. Some years ago it was renovated and transformed into a luxury hotel and spa centre.

When we were shown into the Hall I gasped…

This was the view from my sofa, while my parents had two large armchairs next to me by the fireplace.

For fear of disturbing other guests I didn’t take many photos. But the memory will stay. It was amazing!

Kings and Queens looked on as we were served with our afternoon tea.

And that was amazing too…

… tiny sandwiches, scones with jam and clotted cream, miniature cakes, and delicate pastries…

… and the surrounding countryside is so English too. The word pastoral comes to mind.

(Note the croquet lawn in the foreground!)

I felt like a foreign tourist!

26 thoughts on “Afternoon Tea at an English Hall

  1. How beautiful! It is a dream of mine to visit England and stay in a place like this! Thanks for posting!

  2. This looks fascinating! Like a place from out of time and soooo English. I like the idea of having Tea in this hall and the cakes look so delicious!

  3. Faszinierend. Der Blick wandert hoch die Wände, zur Decke, kommt zurück, verweilt bei den süssen und herzhaften Kleinigkeiten … und braucht eine Weile, um zum Boden des Croquetfeldes zu finden. Selbst dort sind die Tore höher als mir vom deutschen Kinderspiel her bekannt. Alles erhebend – erhaben – eben pastoral.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.