Lemon Verbena Liqueur

A few weeks ago I gathered half a cup of my wonderfully aromatic lemon verbena leaves and put them in a large jar, to which I then added one litre of vodka.

In the June sunshine it shimmered like liquid gold…

I sealed the jar, and let it sit on my windowsill to infuse for exactly two weeks. The scent of lemony bonbons was heavenly when I opened the jar to add the sugar – 500g of it.

After another 2 or 3 weeks, in which I occasionally  gave it a little shake to help the sugar dissolve, I strained the liqueur and filtered it into some bottles. But there was a drop left that didn’t fit into the second bottle, so I just had to test it…

Mmmmmmmmm. So delicious, yet so simple to make.

Best enjoyed in a tiny glass in very small quantities, to make it last as long as possible…

😀

38 thoughts on “Lemon Verbena Liqueur

  1. This is awesome. Based on an earlier post where you mentioned Lemon Verbena, I decided to grow it on my balcony along with a slew of other herbs. Today, I simmered Korean green tea balls with pineapple sage, & lemon verbena in a large pot of water for about 4 hours. Once it became aromatically pleasing, I added honey and some lemon extract, poured it over ice and added Vodka. I am now sitting by a pool at night happy as a bumble be in the midst of spring (me in summer; 108 degrees today) I love the subtle hint of flavor that lemon Verbena adds to my green tea. It truly can contribute to the grandeur of a wonderful, fresh cocktail also. I will have to try your recipe as I have plenty to experiment with.

  2. Hi Cathy…Wow! It looks beautiful that bottle of golden liquid, almost like honey. The more I learn about you through your posts the more I like….have a sip on me why don’t you… 😉

  3. Pingback: 35 Ways to Use Lemon Verbena - Chocolate & Zucchini

  4. Hello – I’ve got my lemon verbena from the summer, but it’s dried – could I still make this and if so – what amount of dried since it’s stronger dried. (and no summer sun – just NY winter weather)

  5. I’m just making this now. When it is strained, do you store it in the fridge or cupboard, and how long should it last?

    • Hi Mary, I stored it in a cupboard… no need to keep it chilled as long as it has been thoroughly strained. With all the alcohol and sugar in it it would keep for at least a year, maybe longer. I drank mine all up within a few months though. 😉 Enjoy!

  6. Pingback: How do you use lemon verbena leaves? - THEKITCHENKNOW

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.