In a Vase on Monday: Happy Halloween!

I wanted to find something spooky this week for a Halloween vase, as I join Cathy at Rambling in the Garden for her weekly meme…

vase31st2

No, not spooky enough. Let’s have another try…

vase31st1b

Aah, now that’s better! The seed heads of the Clematis tangutica are just like little spiders…

vase31st1a

or a bit ghostly, like the hair of a very very VERY old person…

vase31st1c

And with some slightly creepy seed heads of Anemone japonica, the almost black Crocosmia and Echinacea, and the bright orange Physalis alkekengi I hope I managed to capture the ‘spirit’ of the season!

vase31st1f

The pumpkin was a present from a friend, and the butternut will be made into butternut ‘steaks’ this week (I will post a recipe soon!). Last week I called my fern ‘toffee’ coloured, but I think ‘butternut’ is probably an even closer description.

vase31st1

Other ingredients to my vase were some orangey pink Epimedium foliage and a Sedum flower. Did you know Sedums were also renamed? (Actually some time ago but I was slow to catch on!) And of course the new name is much longer and more difficult to pronounce… ‘hylotelephium’. And at the front is the reddish pink seed head of the Ricinus communis that I had to cut down this week – the cold and damp had got to it, but it had lasted so well.

vase31st1d

I won’t be celebrating Halloween myself, but for all of you who are…

Have a wonderful spooky Halloween!

😀 😀 😀

56 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday: Happy Halloween!

  1. This is great for a spooky-themed arrangement Cathy. I know I am supposed to be spooked but the items you chose all rather beautiful and interesting. We’ll have a couple hundred little ones trick-or-treating tonight.

  2. Oh what good choices you have in there Cathy for your Halloween theme – the clematis, physalis and ricinus are perfect with the squash and pumpkin. Thanks for sharing

    • Thanks Cathy. I do love the Physalis but it is such a thug – I have managed to eradicate some of it in the rockery, but no doubt it will have spread again by next spring!

      • I have heard varying reports of its thuggishness and so far have decided against adding it to my garden – although I have a nice string of physalis ‘Christmas’ lights 😉

    • Thanks Deb! I think we need the colour to cheer us up as the light fades, and now with such dark evenings too. (We turned our clocks back last weekend).

  3. Such a nice selection for your Halloween vase. I’ve thought of you often as I’ve seen so many pretty flower arrangements at our hotels in Germany and Austria. Oh and all the pumpkins and artichoke flowers for sale along the roadside. 🙂

  4. The use of the clematis and anemone seed heads was inspired, Cathy! Halloween is almost impossible to ignore here in the US and I can’t resist a little decorating in the spirit of the holiday myself but that’s about as far as my celebration goes these days. My current neighborhood brings in very few, and sometimes no, little trick-or-treaters. I do miss seeing the little ones all dressed up but can do without the teenage and young adult versions.

    I didn’t know that sedum have been renamed. That unpronounceable new name seems a very bad trick!

    • Halloween is in the shops, but that’s about as far as it gets. I think some smaller children have costume parties, but it hasn’t really caught on otherwise!

  5. Perfect vase for Halloween, Cathy. I think it is a fun holiday, and as you know, we really ‘do it up’ over here. Our town has a costume parade and prizes for the little ones – so entertaining to watch.

    • Halloween needs some proper marketing here to work! Today (Nov 1st) is All Souls Day, where people decorate and visit their family graves (which are beautifully tended here). It sounds a bit dismal, but if the sun shines it is a good opportunity for families to take a walk together.

    • So it is celebrated in your village? I only once had some children knock here – well, one child… a solitary and very small ghost! (He said his Mum was waiting for him round the corner!)

  6. What a great arrangement, Cathy. I don’t think I would have seen the potential in the seed heads and some of the combinations you pulled together, but they’re amazing! It’s a very appealing arrangement for fall, and perfect for Halloween. Very clever! The Clematis seed heads really are perfect spiders!

    • I do like using seed heads in arrangements – they can be very atmospheric! I had looked at the clematis seed heads for several weeks with a vase in mind, but their time just hadn’t come – until Monday! 😉

  7. Oh you’ve really captured the spirit of Halloween Cathy. I’ve learned something too i.e. that sedums have a new name 😦 I think that I will conveniently forget that fact! Looking forward to seeing your recipe for pumpkin steaks.

  8. Oh well done. You were miles more successful creating a spooky vase than me. I love the use of the ricinus seeds. Very dramatic. (Mine all dropped off last week. I think the cold must have got to them, although the plants still look OK.)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.