In a Vase on Monday: Anastasia

On Mondays Cathy at Rambling in the Garden invites us to join her in sharing material from our gardens. A lovely way to start the week!

This pretty little Chrysanthemum – ‘Anastasia’ – has been flowering beautifully for me since October, despite rain, fog and then frosts. So before it starts looking too shabby around the edges I decided to pick some for today’s vase.

I was late to discover the joy of Chrysanthemums, as some of the big pompom ones can be a bit….. well, overwhelming? But this hardy C. indicum has small button flowers and just when you think the garden is going into hibernation it starts flowering! In addition, when I picked these on Saturday there were still some bees on it, after 4 degrees of frost that night. So, my message for today is to give Chrysanthemums a chance! 😉

Have a good week!

30 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday: Anastasia

  1. Now when my hardy chrysanthemums make a clump like this one of years I might feel more positive about them…! Your Anastasia is a pretty little thing and as has been said already the ‘lost’ vase is perfect for them – I too have some vases I always associate with particular blooms

    • I only planted these (in 9 cm pots) spring 2019 so they were still small plants last autumn but have grown a lot this year. Strangely one of the two planted is much bigger and bushier, so perhaps it just needs another year. I am sure yours will eventually fill out too Cathy!

  2. Anastasia is looking very good in the garden, and also in that beautiful glass vase, which is perfectly matched. It looks lovely in your garden with the line of the trees and the grasses between.

  3. Lovely variety and views of your borders, Cathy. I also love chrysanthemums and they’re so easy to grow and propagate as well. I hope you’re doing okay in spite of it all. Big hug xx

  4. She’s lovely! I really need to look into getting some good, hardy mums… there are many to choose from. I think in spring I’m not thinking of fall color, so overlook ordering any.

    • Yes, I have been looking for a nursery that specializes in them, although where I usually buy my plants (online) they have about a dozen hardy ones to choose from. 😃

  5. ‘Anastasia’ is lovely! I feel I’m missing out when it comes to chrysanthemums. Very few plants are even sold here and those that are always look sad to me but maybe I need to deny the limits of my climate zone and order some plants from a seller in a colder climate as an experiment. Best wishes for a colorful week Cathy!

  6. Cathy the Chrysanthemum “Anastasia” is divine, I love it and it looks fantastic with the amethyst vase. You have some wonderful chrysanthemums in your beautiful garden that continue to feed the bees despite the frosts: I love them. Take care. Very affectionate greetings from Margarita x😘😀🌼

    • Thank you Beth. I am sorry I can’t comment on your blog. I try again and again intermittently but somehow they get eaten up and block the system! Anyway, your walk looks lovely in that spot near your home. I feel so sorry for people living in cities right now. We have a lot to be thankful for.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.