A Week of Flowers 2023, Day One

‘A week of Flowers’ is my way of brightening up this dark and dismal time of year in the northern hemisphere. The sight of a cheerful bloom never fails to bring a smile, and I will therefore be sharing some of the most colourful flowery photos of this year’s garden for a whole week. Why not join me? Just post one photo (or more!) a day of flowers from your garden for this coming week through to December 7th and leave a link to your post in the comments below. That way everyone can find it and enjoy the warmth and colour as well!

Let the show begin!

Peonies are one of my favourite flowers, and this Itoh Peony ‘Shining Light’ is a beauty.

Peony ‘Cuckoo’s Nest’ is the cuckoo in the Moon Bed, which otherwise contains only blue and cream/white flowers. My sense of humour. 😉

And this one is, I think,  Sarah Bernhardt – it certainly smells wonderful.

These are P. ‘Dancing Butterflies’. Hard to believe on a December day that the Oval Bed looked like this in June!

Have a flowery day, and hope you will drop by again tomorrow!

💕

58 thoughts on “A Week of Flowers 2023, Day One

  1. Pingback: A Week of #Flowers 2023 ~ Day One #Nature – BetweenTheLines

    • Oh no, these were flowering in June – my garden is under several inches of snow today and we have freezing temperatures! This series is looking back at flowers in my garden this year, and I will be posting pictures of spring, summer and autumn flowers all of this coming week to brighten up the winter. 😉

      • Oh, of course. I really do not know what the season for peony is, since we do not grow them here. It would not surprise me to see them bloom until frost, but I sort of think of them as summer flowers.

  2. Pingback: Little Surpise | Wild Daffodil

  3. Pingback: A Week of Flowers: Day One – Cornwall in Colours

  4. I do like peonies, but suspect they wouldn’t like my exposed garden, so I shall simply admire the beauty of yours. I’m cheating again this year by not using flowers from my own garden, but I am taking you to an exceptional garden here in the south west of Cornwall. I hope that is acceptable.

    A Week of Flowers: Day One

    • Absolutely Jude. Any flowers will do really. Our landscape is completely white today as it is snowing like mad… hard to tell where the sky meets the ground! LOL!

      • Urgh! You can keep the snow, though it does look beautiful when new and pristine. It did actually snow in Cornwall yesterday, not 10 miles from me, but I only got a bit of sleet. It’s very unusual for it to snow here other than on the moors.

  5. Pingback: A Week of Flowers 2023 – Day 1 | Eliza Waters

  6. Pingback: A Week of Flowers 2023, #1 – Helenium ‘Moerheim Beauty’ | Frogend dweller's Blog

  7. Pingback: A Week of Flowers – Day #1 – Barefoot Lily Lady

    • Thanks Cindie. Would be great to see your peonies too. I would love to plant lots more of them but would need to make a whole new bed to accomodate them! LOL!

  8. I adore peonies in general but “Shining Light’ stole my breath away, Cathy. I still have one Itoh peony in my garden, planted over 5 years ago. It routinely develops foliage but it’s yet to bloom. It probably never will but but I’ve stubbornly held on to it.

    • A shame they don’t do well for you. I have been fortunate with them right from the start, so our ground and climate must suit them. Lovely you are joining in!

  9. Pingback: A Week of Flowers – Day #2 – Barefoot Lily Lady

  10. Pingback: A Week of Flowers ~~ Day 1 – In My World

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.