Pulmonaria Honey

The flowers of Pulmonaria come in various shades of pink, purple, and blue. There are also white ones (e.g. Sissinghurst White), and a true blue one (Blue Ensign) which has plain green, not variegated, leaves. I have even seen a scarlet red one. They self-seed and hybridise, so the white and blue may eventually change colour. But I don’t mind, as they are all so pretty.

I have several varieties in my rockery, so when I saw someone on Bavarian TV making flower honey with pulmonaria flowers I knew I had to try this.

The flowers look like jewels embedded in amber…

The recipe called for “Acacia” honey, which I couldn’t find, but I think any clear, runny honey would do. There are no specific quantities. I used a handful of pulmonaria flowers, some daisies, wild strawberry flowers, speedwell (Veronica chamaedrys), yellow archangel (Lamium galeobdolon), a little fennel and some lemon verbena. If you still have violets, add a few too. (Mine are all over).

Add the flowers and honey in layers, to help distribute the flowers. Then wait for 4 weeks before eating! I am turning mine regularly, so the flowers don’t clump together and start fermenting.

I’m looking foward to trying it.

I may make some more with other summer herbs…

Let me know if you make some too! What would you put in yours?