Pulmonaria Honey

The flowers of Pulmonaria come in various shades of pink, purple, and blue. There are also white ones (e.g. Sissinghurst White), and a true blue one (Blue Ensign) which has plain green, not variegated, leaves. I have even seen a scarlet red one. They self-seed and hybridise, so the white and blue may eventually change colour. But I don’t mind, as they are all so pretty.

I have several varieties in my rockery, so when I saw someone on Bavarian TV making flower honey with pulmonaria flowers I knew I had to try this.

The flowers look like jewels embedded in amber…

The recipe called for “Acacia” honey, which I couldn’t find, but I think any clear, runny honey would do. There are no specific quantities. I used a handful of pulmonaria flowers, some daisies, wild strawberry flowers, speedwell (Veronica chamaedrys), yellow archangel (Lamium galeobdolon), a little fennel and some lemon verbena. If you still have violets, add a few too. (Mine are all over).

Add the flowers and honey in layers, to help distribute the flowers. Then wait for 4 weeks before eating! I am turning mine regularly, so the flowers don’t clump together and start fermenting.

I’m looking foward to trying it.

I may make some more with other summer herbs…

Let me know if you make some too! What would you put in yours?

31 thoughts on “Pulmonaria Honey

  1. I wondered about the name Pulmonaria, which I assumed was derived from the Latin word for lung, so I looked at the Wikipedia article for Pulmonaria and found this:

    The scientific name Pulmonaria is derived from Latin pulmo (the lung). In the times of sympathetic magic, the spotted oval leaves of P. officinalis were thought to symbolize diseased, ulcerated lungs, and so were used to treat pulmonary infections. The common name in many languages also refers to lungs, as in English “lungwort” and German “Lungenkraut”.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    • Thanks Steve. It has actually been scientifically proven that Lungwort in a syrup can help relieve coughs and bronchial symptoms, even though the original belief was based only on the leaf’s appearance!

  2. I can’t wait to find out how the honey comes out- sounds wonderful. I have put herbs in olive oil but never thought of honey. You are so full of good ideas.

  3. A cool idea Cathy! It is beautiful. You are expecting to taste a bit of the flowers/herbs you added right? Please give an update when you open the honey for tasting!

  4. The picture of flowers and honey is sparking and bright and golden and full of sunshine and life! Beautiful shot and what a wonderful idea. I would love to reblog this post, may I? It truly is a work of art! Elaine

  5. I´ve never heard of making flower honey. Sounds great though. How do you know which flowers can be used?

  6. I don’t like it… I LOVED IT!!!! 🙂 it really look so sweet and tasteful! I wish I could make one for my husband and I!…thank you Cathy, this was a refreshing find 🙂

  7. What a fascinating idea Cathy – I’m intrigued to find out what happens to the flowers in that four week brewing period. Now I know what I could do with my all my unwanted lamium galeobdolon 🙂

  8. Pingback: Pulmonarias – or “Spotted Dogs”? | Words and Herbs

  9. Pingback: Wildflower Honey | Words and Herbs

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.