In a Vase on Monday: Midwinter

The lack of light as the solstice approaches is even more noticeable now that our snow has started melting. But there are nonetheless signs of new life in the garden. The hazel catkins stand out in the hedgerows now that the snow has brought down the last of their big leaves. In just a month or two, depending on the temperatures, their pollen will be flying!

On my morning round of the garden with Anouk (our old doggie) I also noticed a few Euonymus and Rosehips in the hedges that had survived the frosts.

Some pine branches that came down with the weight of the snow were easy picking and made a nice filler for my Advent vase.

Then I added a final flourish with a red cornus stem from the garden beds.

By the way, the elk is Elvin, who makes an annual appearance on this blog! And the little envelope is today’s seed packet from my seed advent calendar… Golden Everlasting. I treated myself to this calendar and am very pleased with the seed packets I have opened so far, which include some beetroot, Sweet Williams, Thyme and Chamomile, Callistephus and an heirloom tomato St. Pierre. It is nice to think about seed sowing, even though it is a long way off still.

I am glad I could find some fresh materials to share so that I can join Cathy at Rambling in the Garden for her weekly meme. Do go and pay her a visit to see what she and others are finding for vases today.

47 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday: Midwinter

  1. A great reward for searching outdoors! Isn’t it amazing what little treasures can be uncovered? I love the idea of the seed advent calendar. What fun. Welcome back, Elvin.

    • Our pine trees also have branches really high up, but the snow brought a few down. I am hoping to find some mistletoe that came down with the snow too!

  2. What a lovely idea for an advent calendar – was it a commercial product or from an Etsy kind of business? Those euonymous berries are so pretty and have reminded me of something else I had been eyeing up for a vase – but there will be other weeks! I love the whole effect of your vase, hips berries, foliage and twigs, and there is nothing bleak about it, is there?

    • These kind of calendars have taken off in the last few years here, and mine is actually from a local company that employs mostly people with disabilities. So I feel like I am supporting a good company too. 👍 Oh, and I did actually think of the carol when choosing my title and immediately dismissed the ‘bleak’ bit! 😃

  3. What a joyful little Christmas bouquet, Cathy. It is absolutely charming. You do a very good job of describing your surroundings, too. Winter is settling in!

  4. Going round your garden in the snow with your dog, how lovely, the light must have been wonderful reflected off the snow. Your advent vase with decorations and that pretty crocheted doily adds a festive feel to your table.

  5. Euonymus flowers are weird. Did you show pictures of that with autumn foliar color earlier? I have never met that species before. Only common evergreen species are planted here.

    • Yes, they are beautiful shrubs in autumn. I have a couple of the smaller evergreen ones, but in hard winters all the leaves may drop off and if they survive they get new leaves in spring.

  6. Love the wintery vase (and cute little Elvin). Do you get a scent from your pine branches in the vase? A pine perfume in the room could tempt me to creep out with the secateurs!

  7. I am always amazed by the beautiful displays you create from your garden, even during the depths of winter. The seed advent calendar is a great idea for chasing away the winter garden blues … that’s if they occur!

    • Yes, I manage to keep the winter blues away if I plan well, saving seedheads etc for vases. And I have plenty of gardening related books and magazines to keep me occupied too. 😃

      • I do the same; when I’m not in the garden I read about gardens, or look at photos for ideas. I bought two new vases the other day too, even though it’s too hot to go outside just now.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.